DIY Rustic Bookshelf📚

We have a problem, friend…

When I was a kid, I loved reading books on every topic, from fantasy all the way to financial…

As time moved on, I slowly but surely lost interest in reading (don’t exactly know why).

But the other day, my mom reminded me of my young passion by handing me my favorite book from when I was a kid… and I have to admit, I got emotional.

So I went to my parents’s house and started rummaging through my old books…

At that exact moment, I decided to take all the books from my old bedroom and put them in my new one.

But I encountered a huge problem… NO BOOKSHELF.

So I thought to myself…

“Why don’t I make a rustic bookshelf?”

This way, I would solve two extremely important things:

#1 — The books I’m so emotionally attached to are safe

#2 — My wife is happy with the rustic style

So I got to work, and about 1 hour later I came up with this:

Not gonna lie, I’m super proud of it!

So if you’re wondering how I did it, here’s how you can do the same:

Materials Needed

  • Wood Planks: For shelves (quantity and size depending on the number and size of shelves you want).

  • Wood Posts: For vertical supports (2x4s or 4x4s are common, depending on the desired thickness).

  • Screws: Wood screws (length depending on the thickness of your planks).

  • Sandpaper: To smooth the wood.

  • Stain/Paint: To achieve the rustic look.

  • Varnish: For a protective finish.

  • Tools: Saw (hand saw or power saw), drill, screwdriver, level, measuring tape, paintbrushes.

Step By Step Guide

1. Plan and Design

  • Measure Space: Measure the area where you want to place your bookshelf.

  • Sketch Design: Sketch your bookshelf, noting the number of shelves and the spacing between them.

  • Choose Wood: Choose the type of wood that fits your aesthetic. Reclaimed wood or pallets are great for a rustic look.

2. Prepare the Wood

  • Cut Wood: Cut your planks and posts to your desired dimensions.

  • Sand Wood: Sand all surfaces to prevent splinters and to prepare for staining.

3. Assemble the Frame

  • Mark Shelf Positions: On your vertical posts, mark where each shelf will go.

  • Pre-drill Holes: To avoid splitting the wood, pre-drill holes where you will insert the screws.

  • Attach Shelves to Posts: Screw the shelves into the posts, ensuring they are level. It's easiest to start from the bottom and work your way up.

4. Stain or Paint

  • Apply Stain/Paint: Apply your chosen stain or paint. A stain will enhance the wood's natural grain, ideal for a rustic look.

  • Add Second Coat: If necessary, add a second coat once the first one is dry.

  • Apply Varnish: Apply a coat of varnish to protect the wood and give it a finished look.

5. Final Touches

  • Inspect: Inspect the bookshelf for any sharp edges or splinters.

  • Install: If the bookshelf is tall or heavy, secure it to a wall to prevent tipping.

6. Decorate

  • Place Books and Decor: Once the varnish is dry and the bookshelf is securely installed, you can start placing your books and decorative items.

In case you were wondering, my old passion for reading came back.

So yeah, sorry, gotta go read some books now…

But you make sure to give this project a try!

Enjoy your Saturday,

Your favorite modern farmhouse designer,

Jacob from Truss & Beam

==

My Favorite Modern Farmhouse Sinks

How did you like this email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.