The power of books📕

How to design a stylish and warm living room leveraging books.

When it comes to creating a warm and welcoming environment for your living room, nothing comes even close to books.

Today we’ll look at:

  • Where to place your books

  • Which books should you pick

  • The ultimate book-pile rules

Where & how to place your books?

Books are one of my absolute 'fundamentals' when speaking of brightening.

As a matter of fact, when I'm styling an espresso or control center table and am not sure about what to use to finish it up, a pile of books is my go-to solution.

Furthermore, a stack looks particularly great with a statement piece on top, a well-known title that instantly catches the attention of whoever enters the room.

What I like to do is to place my favorite books 'in plain view' as style, so that not only they give me knowledge in other people’s eyes, but also come in handy when looking for motivation.

How to pick your books?

While most of your book choices come down to your inclinations, there are a few factors to keep in mind when picking your books.

I decided to put these factors together and create the ultimate book-pile rules:

Rule #1 - Books should be significant.

Your books should intrigue your guests to open them and check what’s inside, especially the one on top.

Rule #2 - The foot stool book should be 11″ tall or bigger

Especially for coffee or center table presentations, the bigger the better. Smaller ones shall be used for bookshelves.

Rule #3 - 2-4 books per stack

More than that is excessively high, and less feels not significant enough. I tend to go with 3, as I lean toward that 'odd numbers' standard when I design.

Rule #4 - Match colors & mix topics

Books on the same pile should match the color tone while offering a variety range of topics.

And that’s all for today’s email, I hope it gave you some good directions on how to start leveraging the incredible power that books have when it comes to designing your living room.

Till next time,

Your favorite modern Farmhouse designer,

Jacob from Truss & Beam